About us

This site has been created by the Akaroa Health Hub Structure Group as a way of sharing the information it is working through in order to make recommendations about how best to ensure the Akaroa area has access to local health services.  Moving forward the site will be updated by the Trustees of the Akaroa Community Trust.





The members of the Akaroa Health Hub Structure Group, who have progressed the Akaroa Health Hub to that stage that it is now at, are:

Alan Bradford - Chair
Maryjane Berry (Fundraising)
Nicholas Davidson QC (Legal)
Frances de Latour (Fundraising and Secretarial)
Kevin Dysart   (Physiotherapist)
Joanna Goven (Communications)
Suzanne Knapp  (GP)
Bruce McLean (Project Management)
Rick Menzies (Community Member, Akaroa-Wairewa Health Steering Group)
Pam Richardson (Chair of Akaroa-Wairewa Health Steering Group)
Lee Robinson (Legal)
Steve Shamy (Health Management)
Donna Tainui (Te Rûnanga o Ônuku)
Nick Walls (Finance)

The recently appointed Trustees of the Akaroa Community Trust are:

Gordon Boxall
Gretchen Foster
Mike Norris
Pam Richardson
Stewart Sinclair
Rik Tainui
Peter Young


Gordon Boxall: Gordon has extensive leadership experience in the health sector, in particular working on community alternatives to traditional institutional settings. Gordon’s work has been predominately in the mental health, addiction and disability sectors. He was CEO of a large not-for-profit service provider in the UK and has also been contracted by NZ Government Agencies in responding to the earthquakes and, more recently, supporting the modernisation of the disability sector. He currently has governance roles for Pathways and People First. Gordon lives in Robinsons Bay.

Gretchen Foster: Gretchen has diverse experience in international business development and marketing, working for a number years as a member of the senior team for The New Zealand Merino Company, most recently as their Stakeholder Engagement Manager. Gretchen and her husband also operate the Akaroa Butchery and Deli.

Mike Norris: Mike has lived in Akaroa since 2004 after returning from the UK where he spent most of his business career founding and leading one of the world’s leading sports marketing and hospitality companies. More recently Mike has been involved in a range of governance roles, including the New Zealand Olympic Committee Presidents Council and most recently the Champion Foundation Trust.

Pam Richardson: Pam has been involved in a wide range of community organisations, including currently serving as Deputy Chair of the Banks Peninsula Community Board, and a board member of North Canterbury Rural Support Trust. Pam lives in Pigeon Bay and brings her extensive knowledge of what works well for communities.

Stewart Sinclair: Stewart lives most weekends in Akaroa with his wife Liz. Stewart is a consultant Plastic and Reconstructive Surgeon for the CDHB and in part time private practice. He served for nearly ten years as Clinical Director at the Department of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery at Christchurch Hospital.

Rik Tainui: Rik was born at the Akaroa Hospital. He is married with 3 children and has 5 grandchildren. His family have called Akaroa/Onuku home for generations. Rick is the Chairperson of the Onuku Runanga and current Te Runanga o Ngai Tahu board member. He has been self-employed for 30 years as a sales and marketing contractor. Much of his time has been spent setting up distribution networks in New Zealand, Australia and Asia.

Peter Young: Peter and his family have a holiday home in Akaroa. Peter is a Chartered Accountant and he had over 35 years in public practice in Christchurch with KPMG and predecessor firms. Peter has a wide range of both commercial and not-for-profit governance involvements, including currently, Leighs Construction, membership of the St John Priory Trust Board and the Comcare Charitable Trust.